Dolittle (2020)

He's just not a people person.

  • Genre: Comedy, Fantasy, Adventure, Family
  • Release Date: 2020-01-01
  • User Rating: 6.9/10 from 1925 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 41min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Universal Pictures
  • Production Country: United Kingdom, China, United States of America, Japan
  • Director: Stephen Gaghan
star 6.9/10
From 1,925 Ratings


After losing his wife seven years earlier, the eccentric Dr. John Dolittle, famed doctor and veterinarian of Queen Victoria’s England, hermits himself away behind the high walls of Dolittle Manor with only his menagerie of exotic animals for company. But when the young queen falls gravely ill, a reluctant Dolittle is forced to set sail on an epic adventure to a mythical island in search of a cure, regaining his wit and courage as he crosses old adversaries and discovers wondrous creatures.

Dolittle Trailer

  • Robert Downey Jr.

    as Dr. John Dolittle
  • Antonio Banderas

    as King Rassouli
  • Michael Sheen

    as Dr. Blair Müdfly
  • Jim Broadbent

    as Lord Thomas Badgley
  • Jessie Buckley

    as Queen Victoria
  • Harry Collett

    as Tommy Stubbins
  • Emma Thompson

    as Poly (voice)
  • Rami Malek

    as Chee-Chee (voice)
  • John Cena

    as Yoshi (voice)
  • Kumail Nanjiani

    as Plimpton (voice)
  • Octavia Spencer

    as Dab-Dab (voice)
  • Tom Holland

    as Jip (voice)
  • Craig Robinson

    as Kevin (voice)
  • Ralph Fiennes

    as Barry (voice)
  • Selena Gomez

    as Betsy (voice)
  • Marion Cotillard

    as Tutu (voice)
  • Kasia Smutniak

    as Lily Dolittle
  • Carmel Laniado

    as Lady Rose
  • Frances de la Tour

    as Dragon (voice)
  • Jason Mantzoukas

    as James the Dragonfly (voice)
  • Ralph Ineson

    as Arnall Stubbins
  • Joanna Page

    as Bethan Stubbins
  • Sonny Ashbourne Serkis

    as Arnall Stubbins Jr.
  • Oliver Chris

    as Sir Gareth
  • Clive Francis

    as Archbishop
  • Paul Holowaty

    as Navy Man
  • Elliot Barnes-Worrell

    as Captain William Derrick
  • Mark Umbers

    as Lieutenant
  • David Sheinkopf

    as Don Carpenterino
  • Sid Sagar

    as Jeff the Prisoner
  • Martin Pemberton

    as Postman
  • Tim Treloar

    as Humphrey the Whale (voice)
  • Jim Carretta

    as Beard Mouse and Leona (voice)
  • Nick Fisher

    as Mini the Sugar Glider (voice)
  • Matt King

    as Clyde
  • Ranjani Brow

    as Mouse (voice)
  • Kelly Stables

    as Mouse (voice)
  • Scott Menville

    as Army Ant (voice)
  • Gia Davis

    as Baby Animal (voice)
  • Henry Holcomb

    as Baby Animal (voice)
  • Kyrie Mcalpin

    as Baby Animal (voice)
  • Isley Zamora

    as Baby Animal (voice)
  • Stewart Scudamore

    as Pirate
  • Samson Kayo

    as Pirate
  • John-Luke Roberts

    as Pirate / Animal Performer
  • Joseph Balderrama

    as Prisoner
  • Daniel Hoffmann-Gill

    as Prisoner
  • Jane Leaney

    as Animal Performer
  • Josh Jefferies

    as On Set Chee-Chee / Animal Performer
  • Shaun McKee

    as On Set Yoshi / Animal Performer
  • Richard Soames

    as Animal Performer
Production Sarah Bradshaw Associate Producer
Sound Danny Elfman Music
Camera Guillermo Navarro Director of Photography
Writing Stephen Gaghan Screenplay
Directing Stephen Gaghan Director
Crew Stephen Gaghan Script
Editing Nick Moore Editor
Editing Craig Alpert Editor
Directing William M. Connor First Assistant Director
Art Gary Tomkins Art Direction
Directing Sandrine Loisy Crowd Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Jenny Beavan Costume Design
Production Joe Roth Producer
Production Lucy Bevan Casting
Art Dominic Watkins Production Design
Production Jeff Kirschenbaum Producer
Production Susan Downey Producer
Camera Julian Bucknall First Assistant Camera
Art Matthew Gray Supervising Art Director
Sound Chris Munro Sound Mixer
Production Jon Mone Executive Producer
Directing Simon Crane Second Unit Director
Writing Chris McKay Screenplay
Art Tom Whitehead Art Direction
Art Will Coubrough Art Direction
Camera Jay Maidment Still Photographer
Art Peter Dorme Art Direction
Art Tom Weaving Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Zoe Tahir Hairstylist
Writing Hugh Lofting Characters
Visual Effects Hugh Lofting Character Designer
Production Emily Brockmann Casting Associate
Production Mark Layton Production Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Joseph Koniak Hair Setup
Production Frank Cuomo Production Manager
Production Simone Goodridge Unit Production Manager
Lighting Ross Grimshaw Lighting Technician
Costume & Make-Up Chris Lyons Special Effects Makeup Artist
Art Tim Browning Conceptual Design
Directing Joey Coughlin Second Assistant Director
Writing David Allcock Storyboard
Production Duncan Broadfoot Location Manager
Visual Effects Bryce Nielsen Visual Effects Producer
Directing John Beckett Script Supervisor
Art Sebastian Lochmann Concept Artist
Crew James Bomalick Stunts
Art Oliver Roberts Art Direction
Directing Tom Rye Second Assistant Director
Directing Teresa Orlando Third Assistant Director
Art Alison Clements Draughtsman
Crew Darren Shearwood Special Effects
Art Martin Bell Art Department Assistant
Camera Alex Bender Second Unit Director of Photography
Crew Dew John Transportation Captain
Art Jimmy Rich Assistant Set Dresser
Writing Thomas Shepherd Screenplay
Costume & Make-Up Daniel Phillips Makeup & Hair
Crew Frank Cuomo Post Production Supervisor
Production Richard Ruck Unit Manager
Directing Mark Johnstone Third Assistant Director
Directing Marlon Beyer Rieger Third Assistant Director