Just Mercy

Just Mercy (2019)

Every generation has its hero. Meet ours.

  • Genre: Drama, Crime
  • Release Date: 2019-12-25
  • User Rating: 8/10 from 926 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 16min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Netter Productions
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Destin Daniel Cretton
star 8/10
From 926 Ratings


The powerful true story of Harvard-educated lawyer Bryan Stevenson, who goes to Alabama to defend the disenfranchised and wrongly condemned — including Walter McMillian, a man sentenced to death despite evidence proving his innocence. Bryan fights tirelessly for Walter with the system stacked against them.

Just Mercy Trailer

  • Michael B. Jordan

    as Bryan Stevenson
  • Jamie Foxx

    as Walter McMillian
  • Brie Larson

    as Eva Ansley
  • O'Shea Jackson Jr.

    as Anthony Ray Hinton
  • Rafe Spall

    as Tommy Champan
  • Rob Morgan

    as Herbert Richardson
  • Tim Blake Nelson

    as Ralph Myers
  • Steve Coulter

    as Judge Buren
  • Mary Kraft

    as Professor Bartholet
  • Rhoda Griffis

    as Judge Pamela Bachab
  • J. Alphonse Nicholson

    as Henry Davis
  • Karan Kendrick

    as Minnie McMillian
  • Tonea Stewart

    as Mrs. Coleman
  • Hayes Mercure

    as Jeremy
  • Lindsay Ayliffe

    as Judge Foster
  • Drew Scheid

    as Linus
  • Denitra Isler

    as Evelyn
  • Dominic Bogart

    as Doug Ansley
  • Tim Hooper

    as Charles Cooper, Office Manager
  • Andrene Ward-Hammond

    as Brenda
  • John Lacy

    as Bill
  • Michael Harding

    as Sheriff Tate
  • Ron Clinton Smith

    as Woodrow Ikner
  • C.J. LeBlanc

    as John McMillian
  • Elizabeth Becka

    as Mrs. Franklin
  • Kelly Mumme

    as Stella Taylor
  • Mallory Hoff

    as Alice Brooks
  • Kirk Bovill

    as David Walker
  • Terence Rosemore

    as Jimmy
  • Charlie Pye Jr.

    as Charlie the Tree Expert
  • Christopher Wolfe

    as Jim Wilkes
  • Adam Boyer

    as Prison Guard
  • Jacinte Blankenship

    as Christy Stevenson
  • Bryan G. Stevenson

    as Howard Stevenson Jr.
  • Brad Sanders

    as Howard Stevenson Sr.
  • Charmin Lee

    as Alice Stevenson
  • Sebastian Eugene Hansen

    as Kris Ansley
  • David Garlock

    as Prison Interviewee
  • Robert Caston

    as Prison Interviewee
  • Talmedge Hayes

    as Prison Interviewee
  • Kuntrell Jackson

    as Prison Interviewee
  • Tatom Pender

    as Tracy
  • Scarlet Olivia Dunbar

    as Jackie McMillian
  • Denitra Isler

    as Evelyn McMillian
  • Darryl W. Handy

    as Bernard
  • Darrell Britt-Gibson

    as Darnell Houston
  • Al Mitchell

    as Uncle Leo
  • Pete Burris

    as Local Male Witness
  • Susie Spear Purcell

    as Local Female Witness
  • Deadra Moore

    as Deb
  • Ryan Dinning

    as Young Officer
  • Carl Palmer

    as Older Officer
  • Greta Glenn

    as Doris Miller
  • Alex Van

    as Chamber Guard
  • Leydi Morales

    as Female Death Row Guard
  • Ben Peck

    as Holman Warden
  • Ted Huckabee

    as Bailiff
  • Ryan Girard

    as Clay Kast
  • Tim Ware

    as Psychologist
  • Norm Lewis

    as Newscaster (voice)
  • Claire Bronson

    as Mrs. Chapman
  • Desmond Phillips

    as State Officer
  • Drew Starkey

    as Young Guard
  • Drew Scheid

    as Linus (uncredited)
  • Brandon Armstrong

    as Neighbor (uncredited)
  • McDaniel Austin

    as Inmate (uncredited)
  • Elizabeth Becka

    as Mrs. Franklin (uncredited)
  • Kirk Bovill

    as David Walker (uncredited)
  • Tony Bradley

    as Prisoner (uncredited)
  • Matthew Byrge

    as Officer Williams (uncredited)
  • Steve Coulter

    as Judge Buren (uncredited)
  • Olivia De Paux

    as Court Reporter (uncredited)
  • Matthew Del Bene

    as Male Lawyer 2 (uncredited)
  • Sandy Givelber

    as Court Reporter (uncredited)
  • John Grimm

    as Community Leader (uncredited)
  • Christine Hameed

    as Family Member (uncredited)
  • Harvey B. Jackson

    as Mason Sheriff Deputy (uncredited)
  • Jay DeVon Johnson

    as Black Guard (uncredited)
  • Jay D. Kacho

    as Prominent Monroeville Citizen (uncredited)
  • Mary Kraft

    as Professor Bartholet (uncredited)
  • David Michael-Smith

    as Deputy Sheriff Barnes (uncredited)
  • Josh Royston

    as Police Officer (uncredited)
  • Patti Schellhaas

    as Courtroom Spectator (uncredited)
  • Tonea Stewart

    as Mrs. Coleman (uncredited)
  • Albert L. Taylor

    as Death Row Inmate (uncredited)
  • Robert Tinsley

    as Prison Guard (uncredited)
  • Benjamin Weaver

    as Courtroom Spectator (uncredited)
Sound Jay Meagher Sound
Art Sharon Seymour Production Design
Art James F. Truesdale Art Direction
Production Gil Netter Producer
Production Carmen Cuba Casting Director
Costume & Make-Up Francine Jamison-Tanchuck Costume Design
Production Mike Drake Executive Producer
Production Michael B. Jordan Executive Producer
Editing Nat Sanders Editor
Art Maggie Martin Set Decoration
Art Peter Borck Art Direction
Writing Destin Daniel Cretton Screenplay
Directing Destin Daniel Cretton Director
Camera Brett Pawlak Director of Photography
Sound Joel P. West Original Music Composer
Production Asher Goldstein Producer
Production Bryan Stevenson Executive Producer
Writing Bryan Stevenson Novel
Sound Katy Wood Sound
Production Gabriel Hammond Executive Producer
Writing Andrew Lanham Screenplay
Production Daniel Hammond Executive Producer
Art Rita Ghosh Art Direction
Art Samantha Dick Art Direction
Production Charles D. King Executive Producer
Production Niija Kuykendall Executive Producer
Sound Onnalee Blake Sound