Dark Waters

Dark Waters (2019)

The truth has a man on the inside.

  • Genre: Drama, Thriller
  • Release Date: 2019-11-22
  • User Rating: 7.4/10 from 597 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 7min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Participant Media
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Todd Haynes
star 7.4/10
From 597 Ratings


A tenacious attorney uncovers a dark secret that connects a growing number of unexplained deaths to one of the world's largest corporations. In the process, he risks everything — his future, his family, and his own life — to expose the truth.

Dark Waters Trailer

  • Mark Ruffalo

    as Robert Bilott
  • Anne Hathaway

    as Sarah Bilott
  • Tim Robbins

    as Tom Terp
  • Bill Pullman

    as Harry Dietzler
  • Bill Camp

    as Wilbur Tennant
  • Victor Garber

    as Phil Donnelly
  • Mare Winningham

    as Darlene Kiger
  • William Jackson Harper

    as James Ross
  • Louisa Krause

    as Karla
  • Kevin Crowley

    as Larry Winter
  • Bruce Cromer

    as Kim Burke
  • Denise Dal Vera

    as Sandra Tennant
  • Richard Hagerman

    as Joe Kiger
  • Abi Van Andel

    as Kathleen Welch
  • John Newberg

    as Dr. Gillespie
  • Barry Mulholland

    as Charles Holliday
  • Jeffrey Grover

    as Edward Wallace
  • Jim Azelvandre

    as Jim Tennant
  • William "Bucky" Bailey

    as Bucky Bailey
  • Marcia Dangerfield

    as Grammer
  • Brian Gallagher

    as David
  • Michael Haney

    as Managing Partner
  • Barry G. Bernson

    as Retired Partner
  • Michael King

    as Unpleasant Partner
  • Greg Violand

    as Union Carbide Lawyer
  • Michael Joseph Thomas Ward

    as DOW Lawyer
  • John Moll

    as Exxon Lawyer
  • Clara Harris

    as Receptionist
  • Bella Falcone

    as Crystal Tennant (11-13)
  • Scarlett Hicks

    as Amy Tennant
  • Amy Morse

    as Tom's Secretary
  • Aidan Brogan

    as Teddy Bilott (12-14)
  • Nathan Slaughter

    as Teddy Bilott (7-10)
  • Graham Caldwell

    as Teddy Bilott (3-5)
  • Beau Hartwig

    as Tony Bilott (10-11)
  • Jacob Bukowski

    as Tony Bilott (4)
  • Keating P. Sharp

    as Charlie Bilott (11-12)
  • Mikel Furlow

    as Silas Pfeiffer (5)
  • Amy Warner

    as Sarah's Mother
  • Linnea Bond

    as Clerk
  • David Myers Gregory

    as Diner Owner
  • Shyra Thomas

    as Waitress
  • Ian Short

    as Doctor
  • Kyndra Jefferies

    as OB
  • Courtney DeCosky

    as All-American Mom
  • Ken Early

    as Chair of the Hearing
  • Kelly Mengelkoch

    as Dr. Mary-Sue Kimball
  • Annie Fitzpatrick

    as Judge
  • Buz Davis

    as Fire Captain
  • Ronald Jenkins

    as Security Guard
  • Wynn Reichert

    as Mediator
  • Mike Seely

    as Dr. Brooks
  • Teri Clark

    as Neurologist
  • Brian Robertson

    as Minister
  • Chaney Morrow

    as Young Farmer
  • Jon Osbeck

    as Sarah's Brother
  • Clyde Tyrone Harper

    as Judge #2
  • Lisa DeRoberts

    as Young Mother
  • Sara Mackie

    as Young Woman
  • Nathan Neorr

    as Local Reporter
  • Barbara Ann Crumm

    as Courtroom Deputy
  • Sheryl Annette Colley

    as Courtroom Employee
  • Logan Laskarzewski

    as Stenographer
  • Phil Fiorini

    as Pastor
  • Manuel Venegas Zepeda

    as Benihana Chef
  • Jennie Malone

    as Guitar Player / Singer
  • Jason M. Griggs

    as Allied Lawyer
  • George Zamary

    as Awbury Lawyer
  • Kurt Roberson

    as Mover
  • Todd Minobe

    as Cow Puppeteer #1
  • Jim Laprelle

    as Cow Puppeteer #2
  • Sydney Miles

    as Laura
  • Catch Farley

    as Scruffy Boy
  • Trent Rowland

    as Tall Boy
  • Geoff Falk

    as Worker #1
  • Glen Yrigoyen

    as Worker #2
  • Elizabeth Marvel

    as Dr. Karen Frank
  • Ming Wang

    as Waitress (uncredited)
  • Caleb Dwayne Tucker

    as Parkersburg Resident (uncredited)
  • Denise Barone

    as Arby's Customer (uncredited)
  • Lea Hutton Beasmore

    as EPA / Dinner Guest (uncredited)
  • Anita Farmer Bergman

    as EPA Agent (uncredited)
  • Lyman Chen

    as Hack Scientist (uncredited)
  • Tyler Craig

    as (uncredited)
  • William Cross

    as Sarah's Father (uncredited)
  • Richard Doone

    as EPA Man / Taft Law Partner (uncredited)
  • George W. Ellerman

    as Court Room Gallery (uncredited)
  • Kathleen Ellerman

    as Court Room Gallery (uncredited)
  • Mark Falvo

    as Court Room Gallery (uncredited)
  • David Fultz

    as Blood Test Patient (uncredited)
  • Robert Gerding

    as Lawyer (uncredited)
  • Sammy Geroulis

    as Taft Lawyer (uncredited)
  • John W. Harden

    as Waiter (uncredited)
  • Al Harland

    as Parkersburg Citizen (uncredited)
  • Dennis Craig Hensley

    as DuPont Lawyer (uncredited)
  • Daniel R. Hill

    as DuPont Security Guard (uncredited)
  • Marc Hockl

    as Church Goer (uncredited)
  • Sue Hopkins

    as Rob Bilott's Mother (uncredited)
  • Matt Hudson

    as Police Officer (uncredited)
  • Trenton Hudson

    as Medical Patient (uncredited)
  • Conner P. Kelley

    as Smoker (uncredited)
  • Angel Kerns

    as Parkersburg Resident (uncredited)
  • Bret Aaron Knower

    as EPA (uncredited)
  • Karen Koester

    as Chemical Wife (uncredited)
  • Gary Maloney

    as Taft Lawyer (uncredited)
  • Rodger Masten

    as Hand Double (uncredited)
  • David Pittinger

    as Taft Lawyer (uncredited)
  • Derek Polen

    as Taft Lawyer (uncredited)
  • Joanne Popolin

    as EPA Lawyer / Taft Lawyer (uncredited)
  • Steven Schraub

    as Taft Lawyer (uncredited)
  • Ramona Schwalbach

    as Plantiff's Family (uncredited)
  • Carly Tamborski

    as EPA Hearing Attendee / Church Parishioner (uncredited)
  • Steven Terry Walker

    as Taft Partner (uncredited)
Production Mark Ruffalo Producer
Production Christine Vachon Producer
Camera Edward Lachman Director of Photography
Production Jonathan King Executive Producer
Art Jesse Rosenthal Art Direction
Directing Todd Haynes Director
Production Jeff Skoll Producer
Writing Matthew Michael Carnahan Writer
Editing Affonso Gonçalves Editor
Sound Marcelo Zarvos Music
Production Pamela Koffler Producer
Art Helen Britten Set Decoration
Art Hannah Beachler Production Design
Sound Drew Kunin Sound Mixer
Production Michael Sledd Executive Producer
Art Miles Michael Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Christopher Peterson Costume Designer
Writing Mario Correa Writer