Die Hard

Die Hard (1988)

40 Stories. Twelve Terrorists. One Cop.

  • Genre: Action, Thriller
  • Release Date: 1988-07-15
  • User Rating: 7.7/10 from 6605 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 11min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Gordon Company
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: John McTiernan
star 7.7/10
From 6,605 Ratings


NYPD cop John McClane's plan to reconcile with his estranged wife is thrown for a serious loop when, minutes after he arrives at her office, the entire building is overtaken by a group of terrorists. With little help from the LAPD, wisecracking McClane sets out to single-handedly rescue the hostages and bring the bad guys down.

Die Hard Trailer

  • Bruce Willis

    as John McClane
  • Alan Rickman

    as Hans Gruber
  • Alexander Godunov

    as Karl
  • Bonnie Bedelia

    as Holly Gennaro McClane
  • Reginald VelJohnson

    as Sgt. Al Powell
  • Paul Gleason

    as Deputy Police Chief Dwayne T. Robinson
  • De'voreaux White

    as Argyle
  • William Atherton

    as Richard Thornburg
  • Clarence Gilyard Jr.

    as Theo
  • Hart Bochner

    as Harry Ellis
  • James Shigeta

    as Joseph Yoshinobu Takagi
  • Bruno Doyon

    as Franco
  • Andreas Wisniewski

    as Tony
  • Joey Plewa

    as Alexander
  • Lorenzo Caccialanza

    as Marco
  • Gerard Bonn

    as Kristoff
  • Dennis Hayden

    as Eddie
  • Al Leong

    as Uli
  • Gary Roberts

    as Heinrich
  • Hans Buhringer

    as Fritz
  • Wilhelm von Homburg

    as James
  • Robert Davi

    as FBI Special Agent Johnson
  • Grand L. Bush

    as FBI Agent Little Johnson
  • Tracy Reiner

    as Thornburg's Assistant
  • Taylor Fry

    as Lucy McClane
  • Noah Land

    as John McClane Jr.
  • Bill Marcus

    as City Engineer
  • Rick Ducommun

    as Walt, City Worker
  • Matt Landers

    as Capt. Mitchell
  • Carmine Zozzora

    as Rivers
  • George Christy

    as Dr. Hasseldorf
  • Anthony Peck

    as Young Cop
  • David Ursin

    as Harvey Johnson
  • Mary Ellen Trainor

    as Gail Wallens
  • Selma Archerd

    as Hostage
  • Rebecca Broussard

    as Hostage
  • Kym Malin

    as Hostage
  • Betty Carvalho

    as Paulina
  • Kip Waldo

    as Convenience Store Clerk
  • Rick Cicetti

    as Guard
  • Bob Jennings

    as Cameraman
  • David Katz

    as Soundman
  • Robert Lesser

    as Businessman
  • Stella Hall

    as Stewardess
  • Terri Lynn Doss

    as Girl at Airport
  • Charlie Picerni

    as Dwayne T. Robinson's Driver (uncredited)
  • Mark Winn

    as Police Detective (uncredited)
Directing John McTiernan Director
Writing Roderick Thorp Novel
Writing Jeb Stuart Screenplay
Writing Steven E. de Souza Screenplay
Production Charles Gordon Executive Producer
Production Lawrence Gordon Producer
Production Beau Marks Producer
Production Joel Silver Producer
Sound Michael Kamen Original Music Composer
Camera Jan de Bont Director of Photography
Editing John F. Link Editor
Editing Frank J. Urioste Editor
Production Jackie Burch Casting
Art Jackson De Govia Production Design
Art John R. Jensen Art Direction
Art Philip Leonard Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Marilyn Vance Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Josée Normand Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Scott H. Eddo Makeup Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Wes Dawn Makeup Artist
Art William J. Durrell Jr. Assistant Art Director
Art Craig Edgar Assistant Art Director
Art Bruce J. Gfeller Construction Coordinator
Art E.C. Chen Set Designer
Art Roland E. Hill Jr. Set Designer
Sound Hank Salerno ADR & Dubbing
Sound Vanessa Theme Ament Foley
Sound Robin Harlan Foley
Sound David W. Gray Dolby Consultant
Sound Catherine Shorr Sound Effects Editor
Sound David E. Stone Sound Effects Editor
Sound Stephen Hunter Flick Sound Effects Editor
Sound Don J. Bassman Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Richard Overton Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Al Di Sarro Special Effects Coordinator
Crew Brent Boates Visual Effects Art Director
Visual Effects Richard Edlund Visual Effects Producer
Crew Dennis Michelson Visual Effects Editor
Crew Charlie Picerni Stunt Coordinator
Camera Michael Ferris Camera Operator
Camera M. Todd Henry Camera Operator
Camera Michael Scott Camera Operator
Camera Peter Sorel Still Photographer
Camera Virgil Mirano Still Photographer
Lighting Ed Ayer Gaffer
Costume & Make-Up Barry Francis Delaney Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Barbara Siebert Set Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Michael Voght Set Costumer
Crew Myra Hill Transportation Coordinator
Crew Stanley R. Webber Picture Car Coordinator
Production Ken H. Rosen Location Manager
Production Joel Marx Location Manager
Production Lloyd Levin Associate Producer
Costume & Make-Up Paul Abascal Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Jim Kail Makeup Artist
Production Beau Marks Unit Production Manager
Production Ferne Cassel Casting Associate
Crew James Nordberg Transportation Captain
Crew Tim Sisson Picture Car Coordinator
Visual Effects Matthew Yuricich Visual Effects
Crew Kenny Endoso Stunts
Crew Dick Ziker Stunts
Crew Glenn R. Wilder Stunts
Sound Kevin F. Cleary Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Ron Bartlett Foley
Crew George P. Wilbur Stunts
Crew Peter McKernan Stunts
Crew Brian Christensen Stunts
Crew Victor Paul Stunts
Sound Craig Heath Sound Recordist
Sound Robert Renga Sound Recordist
Art Tommy Tomlinson Property Master
Sound Jeff Rosen Dialogue Editor
Sound Cindy Marty Dialogue Editor
Directing Marion Tumen Script Supervisor
Sound Christopher Brooks Supervising Music Editor
Sound Stephen McLaughlin Music Producer